Filing Fees1 - Effective 12/01/20
The Filing Fee schedule is for the payment of fees of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court - Southern District of California.
The Court does not accept personal checks or credit cards from debtors to pay filing fees. However, the Court does accept:
For more information, consult Administrative Procedure 1.10 - Fees.
Chapter 7 Filing Fee Waiver or Installments
In some situations, the court may approve a filing fee to be paid in installments or waived completely. Note that if an installment payment plan is approved, the payment schedule must be complied with, or the bankruptcy case may be dismissed without the debtor obtaining a discharge of debts.
If a debtor files a Chapter 7 bankruptcy case and the debtor's income is less than 150% of the federal H.H.S Poverty Guidelines, the court may waive the filing fee completely.
The debtor must complete form CSD 1006 to pay the filing fee in installments, or CSD 1020 for a fee waiver, and mail or submit to the Clerk's Office intake window at the time the bankruptcy petition is filed.
The current fees for filing documents with the United States Bankruptcy Court - Southern District of California are as follows:
|Admission to Practice in the United States District Court
under U.S. District Court - Southern District of California
Civic Local Rule 83.3 (effective January 1, 2021)
|Practice Law District Court, Full Admission||$213.00|
|Pro Hac Vice Application (Effective date 3/1/21)||$213.00|
*Only one fee payable for joint petition by husband and wife
**If the appellant is the trustee or debtor-in-possession, the $293 Appellate docket fee shall be paid from the assets of the estate.
1 Issued in accordance with 28 U.S.C. §1930(b) and FRBP 1006
2 The Court collects the fee unless a party files a complaint to obtain a determination under Rule 4007(b); or when a debtor files a motion to reopen a case based on alleged violation of the terms of the discharge under 11 U.S.C. §524; or whether the reopening is to correct an administrative error.